• Saturday, July 20, 2024


WTC final: Ashwin and Jadeja named in India’s 15, Thakur left out

India’s Ravichandran Ashwin (Photo by MARTY MELVILLE/AFP via Getty Images)

By: easterneye.biz Staff

RAVICHANDRAN ASHWIN and Ravindra Jadeja were both named in India’s 15-man squad for the inaugural World Test Championship (WTC) final against New Zealand, which begins in Southampton on Friday (18).

Jadeja, along with Mohammed Shami, Hanuma Vihari and Umesh Yadav, all of whom sustained injuries during the tour of Australia in December and January, return to India’s Test squad after missing the home series against England earlier this year.

Left-arm spinner Axar Patel, who starred in the 3-1 Test series win against England, and batsman KL Rahul, who underwent surgery for appendicitis in May, missed the cut, after being named in the preliminary 20-man squad.

Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur and Mayank Agarwal were also left out.

The WTC was launched in 2019 to create a marquee event for Test cricket, following the successes of the Twenty20 and 50-over World Cups.

India squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj.

Related Stories

Mrunal Thakur on Dhamaka, experience of working with Kartik Aaryan,…

Nushrratt Bharuccha on Chhorii, pressure of comparison with Lapachhapi, upcoming…

Abhimanyu Dassani on Meenakshi Sundareshwar, how his mom Bhagyashree reacted…