The IPL team known as Delhi Daredevils has been renamed Delhi Capitals.

The Indian Premier League team known as Delhi Daredevils has been renamed Delhi Capitals.

The team has never won the IPL and the new name may bring a change in fortunes for the 2019 edition of the game. They have retained their old red and blue colours but added three roaring tigers to a new logo unveiled in Delhi.

Early this year, Mumbai-based JSW Sports bought a 50 per cent stake in the IPL team. Australian coach Ricky Ponting and captain Shreyas Iyer have been retained for the 2019 season.

However, 10 players, including Glenn Maxwell, Jason Roy and former captain Gautam Gambhir have been released.

“Delhi is the power centre of the country, it is the capital, therefore the name Delhi Capitals,” JSW director Parth Jindal said, according to AFP. He also added that they wanted the name to mean something for the people from Delhi.

“With (Shikhar) Dhawan, we have got more solidity at the top. And the young guys who have been with us (Prithvi Shaw and Rishabh Pant) are doing well for India. The captain and coach are the same, there is continuity there,” he added.

The 2019 edition of the tournament will be partially or wholly played outside India.

Speaking to Hindustan Times, IPL Chairman Rajeev Shukla said that the BCCI was waiting for the announcement of the dates for the general elections, after which a decision will be taken.

“If the dates of the general elections clash with those of the Indian Premier League, then the tournament will be held outside the country. But as of now, we are waiting for the dates to decide on how to go ahead with the scheduling,” Shukla said.

IPL 2018 was won by Chennai Super Kings.