• Sunday, October 02, 2022


India announces Padma award winners

Virat Kohli will receive a Padma Shri

By: Eastern Eye Staff

Political stalwarts Murli Manohar Joshi and Sharad Pawar, former Lok Sabha speaker PA Sangma, cricketer Virat Kohli and Carnatic musician KJ Yesudas are among the 89 people chosen for this year’s Padma awards. Joshi, Pawar, Sangma and Yesudas are among seven to be awarded the Padma Vibhushan, country’s second highest civilian award. The Bharat Ratna, India’s highest civilian honour, will not be conferred on anybody this year. The other awardees in this category are Prof Udipi Ramachandra Rao, former chairman of space agency ISRO (Indian Space Research Organisation); spiritual leader Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev, who has millions of following across the…

You do not have access to this content. You need to subscribe.

Eastern Eye

Related Stories

Eastern Eye


Mrunal Thakur on Dhamaka, experience of working with Kartik Aaryan,…
Nushrratt Bharuccha on Chhorii, pressure of comparison with Lapachhapi, upcoming…
Abhimanyu Dassani on Meenakshi Sundareshwar, how his mom Bhagyashree reacted…