• Wednesday, July 24, 2024


T20 WC: Suryakumar, Bumrah lead India to victory over Afghanistan

Suryakumar’s 53, his 19th fifty in the format, helped India post 181-8 in their second-round Super Eight opener.

Jasprit Bumrah (L) celebrates with teammate Suryakumar Yadav (R) and captain Rohit Sharma after the dismissal of Afghanistan’s Rahmanullah Gurbaz. (Photo: Getty Images)

By: Vivek Mishra

Suryakumar Yadav hit a half-century, and India’s bowlers limited Afghanistan’s batsmen, securing a 47-run victory in the T20 World Cup on Thursday.

Suryakumar’s 53, his 19th fifty in the format, helped India post 181-8 in their second-round Super Eight opener. Jasprit Bumrah, along with spinners Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, and Ravindra Jadeja, restricted Afghanistan to 134, dismissing them on the final ball.

“We adapted well and got 180, which was a great effort from the batters,” said India captain Rohit Sharma. “We had class bowlers who defended it perfectly. Everyone came in and did their job.”

Afghanistan, seen as dark horses for the title, slipped quickly to 23-3, losing openers Rahmanullah Gurbaz (11) and Hazratullah Zazai (two) to Bumrah, while Patel dismissed Ibrahim Zadran (eight). Gulbadin Naib (17) and top-scorer Azmatullah Omarzai (26) added 44 for the fourth wicket, but Kuldeep and Jadeja soon dismissed them. Bumrah ended with a career-best 3-7 from his four overs, while Arshdeep Singh took 3-36.

“We knew we’d be chasing 160-170 given it was against a bigger team. We could’ve done it had we executed smarter,” admitted Afghanistan skipper Rashid Khan.

India and Afghanistan will face Australia and Bangladesh in their remaining Group 1 fixtures, with the top two teams making the semi-finals.

Suryakumar made 53 from 28 balls with five fours and three sixes and shared a 60-run fifth-wicket partnership with Hardik Pandya. “I don’t mind giving this player of the match award to a bowler as well,” said Suryakumar.

Rashid Khan and left-arm fast bowler Fazalhaq Farooqi both took three wickets for Afghanistan. Farooqi struck first by having Sharma caught by Rashid for just eight. It was Farooqi’s 50th career T20 international wicket.

Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant added 43 for the second wicket, with Pant hitting three successive boundaries off Mohammad Nabi. Pant was lbw to Rashid attempting a reverse sweep after scoring 20 off 11 balls. Rashid then claimed Kohli, who was caught by Nabi for 24 off 24 balls. India was 79-3 at the halfway point. Rashid was hit for a boundary and a six in the 11th over by Suryakumar but soon celebrated his third wicket, trapping Shivam Dube lbw for 10. Rashid finished with 3-26.

Suryakumar and Pandya threatened to take the game away from Afghanistan, but Farooqi dismissed Suryakumar in the 17th over before Pandya, who made 32 from 24 balls, fell to Naveen-ul-Haq off the last ball of the 18th over. Farooqi also sent back Jadeja to finish with 3-33.

Cummins takes hat-trick as Australia beat Bangladesh

Pat Cummins claimed a hat-trick, and David Warner scored an unbeaten 53 as Australia defeated Bangladesh by 28 runs in a rain-affected T20 World Cup Super Eight match in Antigua on Thursday.

Australia, aiming for a historic treble of World Test Championship, ODI World Cup, and T20 World Cup titles, were awarded the victory under the Duckworth-Lewis formula after reaching 100-2 off 11.2 overs when rain stopped play. Earlier, Australia held Bangladesh to 140-8 off their 20 overs at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium.

Australia captain Mitchell Marsh praised his bowlers. “Really exciting bowling performance, the boys played well tonight,” Marsh said. “It is a very good playing XI. We’ve got 15 guys that can take us deep in the World Cup, but there’s a long way to go.”

Cummins was thrilled with his first international hat-trick. “Pretty awesome to tick that off,” Cummins said. “The boys are welcoming me into the club — it’s a good club to be part of.”

Warner led a brisk chase despite multiple rain interruptions. The final delay extended play past midnight, with Warner not out on 53 and Glenn Maxwell unbeaten on 14. Australia, needing 41 off 52 balls to win, were declared winners when no further play was possible.

Bangladesh struggled after losing the toss and being put into bat. Cummins took the wickets of Mahmudullah, Mahedi Hasan, and Towhid Hridoy in consecutive deliveries over two overs. Cummins finished with 3-29, while spinner Adam Zampa impressed with 2-24. Mitchell Starc became the most prolific bowler in white-ball cricket history with his 95th World Cup wicket, surpassing Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga. Starc’s early breakthrough set the tone, and Australia’s attack kept Bangladesh on the back foot.

Australia’s bowlers, including Josh Hazlewood and Zampa, maintained pressure throughout, with Hazlewood opening his spell with a maiden. Shanto’s aggressive start with a six off Hazlewood was short-lived as Bangladesh’s innings stalled. Zampa’s dismissal of Liton Das in the ninth over and Maxwell’s wicket of Rishad Hossain left Bangladesh struggling at 67-3. Cummins then tore through the lower order, leaving Australia a target of 141 to win.

Related Stories

Mrunal Thakur on Dhamaka, experience of working with Kartik Aaryan,…

Nushrratt Bharuccha on Chhorii, pressure of comparison with Lapachhapi, upcoming…

Abhimanyu Dassani on Meenakshi Sundareshwar, how his mom Bhagyashree reacted…