• Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Live Coverage

Modi’s party leads on all seven seats in Delhi

Indian Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) supporters hold colour smoke crackers as they celebrate on the vote results day for India’s general election at BJP headquarters in New Delhi on May 23, 2019 (Photo: SAJJAD HUSSAIN/AFP/Getty Images).

By: Radhakrishna N S

THE BJP continued to lead in all the seven seats in the national capital with three of its candidates taking the lead by a margin of over 2.4 lakh votes (240,000) while the Congress and AAP trailed at the second spot in five and two constituencies respectively.

Celebrations began at various counting centres where jubilant supporters of the saffron party started bursting crackers and shouting slogans.

BJP’s incumbent member of parliament (MP) from West Delhi Parvesh Verma was leading with a maximum margin of over 246,000 votes while Congress’s Mahabal Mishra was at the second spot.

Singer-turned-politician Hans Raj Hans followed him with a margin of over 240,000 votes in the Northwest Delhi constituency where he is pitted against AAP’s Gugan Singh, who is on the second position and Congress’ Rajesh Lilothia at the third spot.

Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari, who contested from the Northeast Delhi constituency against Congress veteran and former chief minister Sheila Dikshit and AAP’s Dilip Pandey, was leading with a margin of over 239, 000 votes.

Cricketer-turned-politician Gautam Gambhir, who is making his electoral debut from East Delhi constituency, was leading by a margin over 161,000votes.

Gambhir is locked in a contest with Congress’ Arvinder Singh Lovely and AAP’s Atishi.

Incumbent MP from New Delhi Meenakshi Lekhi was ahead of Congress’ Ajay Maken by a margin of over 138,000lakh votes.

South Delhi’s incumbent MP Ramesh Bidhuri was also ahead by a margin of over 150,000 votes on the seat with AAP’s Raghav Chadha on the second spot.

Chandni Chowk was the only seat where BJP candidate’s margin was less than a lakh at 64,659 votes.

Union minister Harsh Vardhan is locked in a close fight with Congress veteran Jai Prakash Agarwal from the Chandni Chowk constituency.

Counting is underway for seven Lok Sabha seats in the national capital.

“The counting is going on smoothly in all the seven counting centres. Till now we have not received any complaints or any information of disturbance at the counting centres. Also the law and order situation is normal in the city,” Delhi chief electoral officer Ranbir Singh said.

Related Stories


Mrunal Thakur on Dhamaka, experience of working with Kartik Aaryan,…
Nushrratt Bharuccha on Chhorii, pressure of comparison with Lapachhapi, upcoming…
Abhimanyu Dassani on Meenakshi Sundareshwar, how his mom Bhagyashree reacted…