• Wednesday, June 12, 2024


Apsana Begum MP wins Young People’s MP of the year award

Begum was recognised for her work to protect women affected by domestic abuse.

Apsana Begum MP receives the award from diversity and inclusion charity Patchwork Foundation

By: Pramod Thomas

Poplar and Limehouse MP Apsana Begum has won the 2022 Young People’s MP of the Year award by the Patchwork Foundation at the MP of the Year awards ceremony.

The event was hosted and presented by the Patchwork Foundation’s Patron and speaker Sir Lindsay Hoyle in Speaker’s House.

Begum was recognised for her work to protect women affected by domestic abuse, including advocating for it to be recognised as a public health priority as part of Women’s Aid #DeserveToBeHeard campaign, a statement said.

The jury also noted her continued celebration of cultural diversity and faith and minority groups, and how vocal she has been on highlighting structural inequalities faced by women during the pandemic.

“It is an absolute honour to receive the Young People’s MP of the Year Award. Our young people are an enormous asset to our society, and I continue to learn so much from them – whether it is about climate change, anti-racism, equality, or creative visions for change. As the first hijab wearing MP representing one of the most diverse areas in the country, where I have lived all my life, I am passionate about celebrating cultural diversity and empowering the marginalised,” she said.

The awards celebrate MPs who have actively worked with underrepresented and disadvantaged communities across the UK over the previous 12 months.

The MPs are nominated by the public, with winners being anonymously selected by an independent panel of judges.

MPs recognised for work championing underrepresented communities in 2022 at prize ceremony held in Speaker’s House.

The other winners are, Gary Sambrook MP (newcomer of the year), David Lammy MP (Labour MP of the year), Fiona Bruce MP (Conservative Party MP of the year), Jamie Stone MP (other party MP of the year) and Catherine West MP (overall MP of the year).

The event was attended by MPs, corporate partners, and members of the public.

Related Stories


Mrunal Thakur on Dhamaka, experience of working with Kartik Aaryan,…
Nushrratt Bharuccha on Chhorii, pressure of comparison with Lapachhapi, upcoming…
Abhimanyu Dassani on Meenakshi Sundareshwar, how his mom Bhagyashree reacted…

Adblocker detected! Please consider reading this notice.

We've detected that you are using Ad Blocker or some other adblocking software which is preventing the page from fully loading.

We strive to deliver high-quality content and experiences. To help us continue, please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.  We use non-intrusive ads to keep our content free.

We don't have any banner, Flash, animation, obnoxious sound, or popup ad. We do not implement these annoying types of ads!

We need money to operate the site, and almost all of it comes from our online advertising.

Please add EasternEye.biz to your ad blocking whitelist or disable your adblocking software.