• Wednesday, March 29, 2023


New Zealand vs Australia, ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Final

By: Admin Super

Australia won their first T20 World Cup title with an eight-wicket victory against New Zealand in a title match that was dominated by Mitchell Marsh’s blazing 77-run innings. After Australia slotted them in to take the first strike, Kane Williamson top-scored for the Black Caps with an 85-run performance, while starter Martin Guptill added 28 runs.

Three of the four wickets were taken by paceman Josh Hazlewood (3/16), while one was taken by leg-spinner Adam Zampa (1/26). Australia cruised through the target in 18.5 overs thanks to opener David Warner’s 38-ball 53 and Marsh’s 50-ball unbeaten 77.

Australia, the five-time 50-overs World Champions, needed 173 runs after deciding to the field and lost skipper Aaron Finch early again, but Warner and Marsh came together for a 92-run second-wicket partnership to move their team close to victory in Dubai.

Warner was bowled by a returning Trent Boult, but Marsh and Glenn Maxwell combined to get Australia over the line, allowing Finch to claim Australia’s sole T20 World Cup championship, and to give a befitting ending to the https://sportsbetting.net.in/cricket/ favourites.

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson had earlier hit a 48-ball 85 to lead his team to 172, but it wasn’t enough to stop Australia’s powerful batting squad from making it six out of six in this year’s tournament while chasing.

“It’s huge”, said Australia wicketkeeper Matthew Wade, who smashed Pakistan’s Shaheen Afridi for three sixes in a row to seal Australia’s spot in the final.

“It felt like a lot of people wrote us off but we spoke about being the first team to do this for Australia and it feels really special.”

“We love each other, I’m so proud of this team,” said Marcus Stoinis. “You won’t find bigger supporters of Mitch Marsh than us and his family.”

A large crowd – including a handful of Indian and Pakistani fans who had bought tickets in the hopes of seeing their sides reach the final – was treated to plenty of boundaries in both innings as the bat once again dominated proceedings.

Williamson, who was dropped for 21, blasted 10 fours and three sixes, but lacked the help he needed from the other end to get New Zealand to a competitive total.

Finch’s early loss did not deter Australia’s aggressiveness, as Warner and Marsh combined for a total of 10 fours and seven sixes.

As the Australian team came racing in to celebrate the victory, Maxwell, who made 28, joined Marsh, put on 66 runs, and struck the winning boundary.

Past winners

2007 – India

2009 – Pakistan

2010 – England

2012 West Indies

2014 Sri Lanka

2016 West Indies

2021 Australia


Memorable moments from cricket’s T20 world cups revisited

‘Gaylestorm’ In Johannesburg – 2007

Chris Gayle of the West Indies, perhaps the finest batsman in the T20 format, came out firing in the first game of the first T20 World Cup in 2007, blasting the format’s first-ever century.

To boost his team to a massive total of 205 in Johannesburg, the Caribbean power-hitter smashed a 57-ball 117, including 10 sixes and seven boundaries.

The West Indian bowlers, on the other hand, failed to defend the goal, and the Proteas won with 14 balls to spare after losing just two wickets, owing to Herschelle Gibbs’ 90-run blitz and Justin Kemp’s 22-ball 46 runs.

Bowl-out misery – 2007

A match between Pakistan and India has been dubbed the “mother of all games.”

It is so important (and lucrative) that cricket administrators confessed to manipulating tournament draws to guarantee that the two sides met.

After concluding their innings on 141, the two South Asian teams competed in the first and last bowl out — a newly adopted tie-breaker.

The stumps were to be struck by five bowlers from each team. Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh, and Robin Uthappa scored for India, while Yasir Arafat, Umar Gul, and Shahid Afridi failed for Pakistan.

A bowl-out was removed from the competition and substituted a Super Over as the farcical climax to a Pakistan-India encounter.

The orange minnows – 2009

The “minnows” Netherlands upset hosts England at Lord’s, to earn a place in history.

England set a goal of 163 points for the Netherlands. The associate country had reached 156-6 at the end of the 19th over.

While Stuart Broad bowled some terrific yorkers, Edgar Schiferli and Ryan ten Doeschate managed to run five singles in the penultimate over, evading run out chances on at least four times.

Broad conceded an overthrow off the final delivery while attempting a run out, and the Netherlands pulled off a stunning victory.

Carlos Brathwaite, remember the name – 2016

Carlos Brathwaite’s remarkable power-hitting in the final over of the exciting final versus England in Kolkata enabled West Indies to become the first side to win the T20 World Cup twice.

West Indies needed 19 runs off the last six balls to reach 156.

Brathwaite hit four straight sixes against Ben Stokes to reclaim the West Indies title.

His heroics prompted former West Indian bowler Ian Bishop to make the now-famous remark from the commentary box.

“Carlos Brathwaite, remember the name.”

Eastern Eye

Related Stories

Eastern Eye


Mrunal Thakur on Dhamaka, experience of working with Kartik Aaryan,…
Nushrratt Bharuccha on Chhorii, pressure of comparison with Lapachhapi, upcoming…
Abhimanyu Dassani on Meenakshi Sundareshwar, how his mom Bhagyashree reacted…